Planning the adventure: Japan day 2-3

on

Waking up for the first time in Tokyo is going to be bloody weird. I love that moment of dissociation when you realise you’re not in your own bed. In this case I’ll be waking up in a strangers house, in a loft above a living room, and where other guests might be idly chatting or playing with the owners dogs. I’m excited for that brief flash of panic and it’s going to be a pretty cool feeling (though I do worry about jet lag).

My plan for days two to three are to explore the various districts and quirky shops of Tokyo. I really want to find one of those tiny kitchens that open to the street and demolish big bowls of ramen while taking in the hustle and bustle of the streets. I’m aware that these sorts of restaurants expect you to move on quickly so they can get more customers but I’ll still enjoy the moment!

As a mega nerd I will obviously be checking out Akihabara. For those who do not know what this place is I can sum it up in one picture.

Akihabara Tokyo

I’ll add a few more words though thanks to wikipedia: “Akihabara is considered by many to be an otaku cultural center and a shopping district for video games, anime, manga, and computer goods. Icons from popular anime and manga are displayed prominently on the shops in the area, and numerous maid cafés are found throughout the district”.

I’m not too fussed by the maid cafés but I do want to check out anything relating to gaming memorabilia. If I don’t come back with a bad ass stompy robot figurine then I’ll be crushed.

I really want to check out Roppongi Hills mainly so I can see the obscene price tags for their designer wear and also the architecture. Lucy will naturally want to go to the hedgehog cafés. Because hedgehogs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s a couple of attractions that might wait till our last few days of the holiday. Specifically Tsujuku Fish Market and Tokyo Skytree. We will only be able to go to Tsujuku on the Monday of our first time in Tokyo and the Skytree seems a fitting end to our trip. Obviously this may vary when we actually get there but they are two places that are definitely on the list

At this time it’s hard to be specific about all the things I want to see and do in Tokyo as there’s tons on offer. While exploring, Lucy and I generally like getting lost in little side streets and finding cute and quirky places. I think that between details like little shrines, parks and even decorative manhole covers we will be pretty happy.

japanese-manhole-covers-1

On Day four we’ll be heading west across Honshu towards Tsumago where a complete contrast to Tokyo will await us.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

