March Update

Yes I know it’s the first of April but this is no joke. It’s my monthly update!

1) Get a new job or find a way of making current role more enjoyable.

Applied for three, two in the same department and didn’t get any interviews. Feedback from the first two were laughable – I had written an excellent application but I didn’t mention I had any typing skills. Okay…

The other job position was closed due to unforeseen circumstances. Technically not a failure on my part but still another knock. I am growing tired and frustrated at my lack of success but I will continue to focus and hopefully find a way through this utterly shite period of job hunting.

2) Explore Japan with Lucy

If daydreaming on Street View counts then I’ve done some planning. It’s cherry blossom time which is the prettiest time of year for me and the pictures from the land of the rising sun are typically beautiful. There’s isn’t much to organise yet but I think I will finally get round to writing some blogs about where exactly we are going!

20160419145644_57169b8c8b302

3) Actually paint some miniatures.

Very little happened this month due to some very hectic weekends. Plus the new Zelda came out and I have been happily running around Hyrule hunting animals and cooking food – rather than saving the world. I don’t feel too bad about missing this target as I’ve been pretty good since January.

4) Sell some of the dead weight.

I’ve tidied some of the shit that I have and got rid of some of the crap on my desk  but otherwise there are still miniatures in boxes, games collecting dust and clothes that need to go in a charity bin.

5) Look after myself a lot more.

Last weekend Lucy and I went to a Spa to celebrate the end of her placement. That’s surely the epitome of looking after myself right? Anyway it was lovely and we both felt pretty refreshed. I’ve got some new healthy recipes that I’ve cooked and has varied our diet. Food wise I’m feeling pretty good about what we have going. A bit more sleep has helped my energy levels and overall I’m feeling less aches. Apart from the mop on my head needing a chop I’m pretty good physically.

Mentally I’ve been very stressed but am focusing on looking after myself more and letting others take some of the slack. Because why not eh? I’ve done enough for some people to last a lifetime and half the time they don’t even realise it. A dig yes, but the truth? Absolutely.

Space+Wolves+The+Fang_1405874151

6) Read more and challenge my own opinions.

Read Prospero Burns which was good fun and have started This Book Will Save Your Life which has been good so far. Got Judge Dredd Case Files 19 on the bedside table as well so a good month I must say.

As for challenging my opinions I have struggled to find contrary sources that don’t make me feel physically sick at the sight of their borderline racism and closed mindedness. I am pretty broad minded but some of the shit out there deserves to be consigned to history. I’ve read a lot more articles on the BBC, Guardian and the Independent that focus on issues that don’t directly affect me. Doing this has broadened my horizons a little but politically I feel I am a lost cause for the right – I believe in freedom much more than rules.

7) Finish the copy editing and proofreading course even if I’m not really enjoying it.

Actually. Did. Some. Proofreading. Only a little but that’s a vast improvement over January and February. If I pass I’ll let you know but hooray for me for trying more avenues in my desperate escape from admin drudgery.

8) Blog weekly.

Well I wrote one good blog this month but even the second one was published a day late. It has been a tough one this month due to Monty and other factors but I feel, with the lighter evenings and a better work space I should be able to blog a little more. It’s amazing what some blue sky and spring colour will do for my mood as well.

So that was actually relatively positive from a month that saw Monty get hit by a car and Lucy and I argue a lot due to stress. As Rocky once said, ‘it ain’t about how hard you hit, it’s about hard you get hit and keep going forwards’. Amen to that.

Leave a Reply

