February Update

February has flown by and I cannot believe we’re almost at the end of winter. The lighter mornings and evenings are have a dramatic impact on my overall energy but I have to say that this month been a bit pants.

1) Get a new job or find a way of making current role more enjoyable.

I got a job interview but didn’t get the job. It looked like a really good role but I just didn’t have as much experience in a couple of the fields as the successful applicant. There was nothing wrong with my interview technique and the test went well. Apparently there were 89 applicants for the role as well so to get down to the last 5 was a real boost.

In the interim I’m trying to keep a more positive outlook at work. It’s been a bit of a low mood month in places but more on that later.

53057239-jpg-1024x0

2) Explore Japan with Lucy

After the burst of energy booking almost everything last month I held back a bit with more Japan planning. I worked out rough travel times from each location and updated my spreadsheet with links for pretty much every route that we’ll be taking. I also booked the last hotel. Next month I’ll make sure that the Japan rail pass is ordered so that’ll be one less thing to worry about.

3) Actually paint some miniatures.

Pushed on with this with a vengeance. I’m currently writing this while paint literally dries. I’ve only managed to paint at weekends but it’s been nice to watch the army grow. As soon as I’ve got this batch painted I’ll be picking up some more to take the army up to a game worthy level.

egypt2

4) Sell some of the dead weight.

Still surrounded by the stuff that really needs to go on eBay. Zilch progress on this one

5) Look after myself a lot more.

I took a week off work recently which has helped energy wise but I honestly got pretty low this month. My mood dropped after failing to get the job and, even though it might not have been connected, I was knocked back for almost the whole week. Did sort out ‘some’ errands and it was nice to be able to help around the house more than usual. And of course it was nice to hang out with Monty a lot more.

It really is a case of being kinder to yourself. I’ve tried to remember that I’m actually in a pretty enviable position in life and just because some things aren’t perfect doesn’t mean I’m doing badly.

6) Read more and challenge my own opinions.

I’ve finally finished off Chavs: The Demonization of the Working Class by Owen Jones. I urge people to try and read it as it’s a very accessible commentary on the working class and how they’ve been stigmatised. It’s awful to look at how successive governments and the media have negatively shaped public attitudes towards the poor in this country.

I’m having a breather from societal issues by reading some classic Dan Abnett fiction.

7) Finish the copy editing and proofreading course even if I’m not really enjoying it.

tumbleweed_licnsed_2

8) Blog weekly.

And not much success here either. I’ve written at least four drafts this month talking about my mood, Obama and various other things that have gone on in the world. Unfortunately I’ve not really felt that they were good enough to publish. My motivation seriously disappeared in February but I’m feeling a little better now. At least I’ve managed to post this blog!

And on a random note it’s nice to see the blog receiving a bit more traffic day to day even without new posts. Nice to think that people are finding my blog amongst all the other writers out there.

 

So there it is, a shitty blog to finish off a mostly shitty month. But hey ho, life isn’t perfect. All I can do is keep pushing forwards and strive towards my goals.

Keep peachy.

Leave a Reply

