Goals for 2017

Yes it’s a cliché but I really want to set some goals for this year. It might work and it might not but I want to give it a go. Let’s get going.

1) Get a new job or find a way of making current role more enjoyable.

This is open ended. I honestly have no idea what I would love to do with my life but I know that I have stagnated in my current job and it’s time for a change. There’s only so much additional work I can take on without being paid extra for it and I don’t want to seriously resent my work in the long term. No one wants to work with a grump either. Time for me to move on.

pastures-630x230

2) Explore Japan with Lucy

My time off is booked. I now need to be brave and book some flights. I’m a little terrified of the reality of this as I’ve not done a long haul flight before. I also can’t get the idea of a fiery explosion burning me alive out of my head. Basically I’m not a great flyer. But man a want to explore Japan – especially since everyone else I know seems to have been there now and loved every minute.

3) Actually paint some miniatures.

I am very easily distracted by easier hobbies. Gaming is a massive pastime for me and far simpler to enjoy then sitting down and painting toy soldiers for hours. But my other two main wargaming friends are busy painting armies all the time and I am really letting the side down visually. I want to do it for them as much as anyone else.

14713768_10154737121656495_8376571084997380699_n

4) Sell some of the dead weight.

I really want to get rid of the clutter in my life. I’ve got far too much stuff and it’s time to sell or give away a lot of it. It would be nice to use the money for Japan and I’m pretty sure that some of my “treasured” possessions aren’t used that often. Also I get a warm feeling inside when I give old clothes to charity – that’s a good enough reason to do it.

5) Look after myself a lot more.

Read – less booze, better grooming, a bit more exercise. Dress nicer and look after the house so that I feel proud of what I’ve got. Pretty standard goal for most people but one that we should all do.

6) Read more and challenge my own opinions.

For me, 2016 will be remembered as the year of the social media echo chamber. The political events of 2016 have shown me that people need to keep challenging themselves and their opinions if they ever want to be taken seriously – or even stay afloat in the sea of confusion that is life. Amongst other things that means reading books that might not normally appeal to me to get a broader understanding of the problems of the world around me. Mostly it’s because the people I resent the most are those who are so inflexible to the possibility of change.

UK Independence Party (UKIP) leader Farage speaks during an interview with Reuters in London

7) Finish the copy editing and proofreading course even if I’m not really enjoying it.

I’ve started so I’ll finish. I’m lucky that I was even given the opportunity to do it so I really should complete it. At the very least it should help me spot my own errors more. I’ll set aside an evening a week for this job.

8) Blog weekly.

I enjoy writing and occasionally people really like what I have written (they’ve even told me to my face which is nice). I know I would love to write for a living but I don’t think it’s a feasible career at this time. But I might as well try and keep my metaphorical sword sharp and the only way to do that is to write often.

Blimey! I didn’t realise I had so many things on my mind. I think I could go on forever but I’ll stop there for now. Here’s to 2017 and new challenges and rewards for us all. I hope you have an excellent year and, as always, never surrender dreams.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

